May 28, 2024  
2014-2015 General Catalog (Summer, Fall 2014) 
2014-2015 General Catalog (Summer, Fall 2014) ARCHIVED CATALOG: To search archives, MUST use search box to left. Current catalog:

Introduction to Utah State University

Utah State University

Utah State University

Utah State University blends the academic advantages of a large university together with the friendliness of a small college. USU recognizes that the needs of the individual are of major importance, therefore, a variety of programs have been established to give the student optimal individual attention.

Utah State University offers an excellent opportunity for students to study a wide range of subjects. In order to serve its more than 25,000 enrolled students, USU is home to 42 departments in eight academic colleges. USU offers over 200 undergraduate degree programs and over 140 graduate degree programs. USU is also home to a system of Regional Campuses, Distance Education, University Extension, and several research programs.

Programs offered through Regional Campuses and Distance Education have dramatically increased in recent years. Currently, more than 26 bachelor’s degrees and 18 graduate degrees are available through USU’s regional campuses in Brigham City, Tooele, and the Uintah Basin. USU-Eastern has strengthened higher education in the eastern corridor of the state and extended critical research programs to the region, particularly in energy, water and environmental management.

USU was founded in 1888 as part of the public educational system of Utah and operates under the constitution and laws of the state. It belongs to the family of institutions known as land-grant universities, which had their origin in 1862. The institution was originally called the Agricultural College of Utah, later becoming Utah State Agricultural College. The state legislature designated the name change to Utah State University in 1957.

An 18-member State Board of Regents governs the Utah System of Higher Education, including Utah State University. This board has the responsibility for state-wide master planning for higher education, assignment of roles to the several institutions in the state system, and control of operating and capital budgets for the institutions. USU has an 11-member Board of Trustees whose responsibilities are derived from Utah statutes, as well as those delegated to the Trustees by the State Board of Regents.

Utah State University is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

Accreditation of an institution of higher education by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of institutional quality evaluated through a peer review process. An accredited college or university is one which has available the necessary resources to achieve its stated purposes through appropriate educational programs, is substantially doing so, and gives reasonable evidence that it will continue to do so in the foreseeable future. Institutional integrity is also addressed through accreditation.

Accreditation by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities is not partial but applies to the institution as a whole. As such, it is not a guarantee of every course or program offered, or the competence of individual graduates. Rather, it provides reasonable assurance about the quality of opportunities available to students who attend the institution.

Inquiries regarding an institution’s accredited status by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities should be directed to the administrative staff of the institution. Individuals may also contact:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
8060 165th Avenue N.E., Suite 100
Redmond, WA 98052
(425) 558-4224


Many USU programs are also accredited by discipline-specific associations and organizations as follows:  Accrediting Board of Engineering and Technology; American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences; American Association of Museums; American Chemistry Society; American Music Therapy Association; American Political Science Association; American Psychological Association; American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; AACSB International – The Association to Advance College Schools of Business; Commission on Accreditation for Dietetics Education; Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education; Commission on English Language Program Accreditation; Cooperative State Research Education and Extension Service; Council on Aviation Accreditation for Aviation Technology; Council for Interior Design Accreditation; Council of Social Work Educators; Council on Rehabilitation Education; Council on the Education of the Deaf; Institute of Food Technologists; Landscape Architecture and Accreditation Board; National Association of School Psychologists; National Association of Schools of Music; National Association of Schools of Theater; National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education; National Council on Family Relations; National Institute of Food and Agriculture; National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission; National Recreation and Park Association; Society of American Foresters; Society of Range Management; Teaching Education Accreditation Council; Utah State Office of Education; Utah State Board of Education – Teacher Education Program; Utah State Board of Vocational Education; US Army; and Air University (USAF).