Jul 22, 2019  
2014-2015 General Catalog (Spring, Summer 2015) 
    
2014-2015 General Catalog (Spring, Summer 2015) [ARCHIVED CATALOG Please see current catalog]

Undergraduate Admission


 

Director, Admissions Office: Katie Nielsen
Location: Taggart Student Center 102
Phone: (435) 797-1079, (435) 797-1129, or (800) 488-8108
FAX: (435) 797-3708
E-mail: admit@usu.edu
WWW: http://www.usu.edu/admissions

The Utah State University undergraduate admissions policy is designed to admit students who have the best chance to successfully complete a university program of study. USU grants admission, without regard to race, creed, sex, or national origin, to those students who satisfy the admissions requirements.

The Application for Undergraduate Admission and Scholarships is available online at http://www.usu.edu/admissions. For a paper application, please contact the Admissions Office.

Application materials may be sent to:

Admissions Office
Utah State University
0160 Old Main Hill
Logan UT 84322-0160

New Freshman Admission

New freshman applicants are expected to have graduated from a regionally accredited high school with a minimum 2.5 GPA, a minimum ACT score of 17 (SAT score of at least 820), and a minimum 90 Admissions Index score. (See Admissions Index table.) In order to be admitted in good standing, all three requirements must be met. More information about the Admissions Index is available at: http://www.usu.edu/admissions

A minimum GED Total of 656 is required (550 GED Battery Average is required if taken prior to 2014).

New Freshman Application Materials

  1. Application for Undergraduate Admission and Scholarships
  2. Nonrefundable $40 application fee ($55 if late)
  3. High school transcript or GED score
  4. ACT or SAT score (waived for applicants 25 and older)
  5. Official college transcript of concurrent enrollment

New Freshman Application Deadlines

Admissions applications are accepted after posted deadlines with an additional $15 late fee. Scholarship consideration is given only to fall semester applicants.

Fall Semester—April 1 (Scholarship Deadlines—priority December 1)
Spring Semester—October 1
Summer Semester—April 1

High School Curriculum

Students who have graduated from high school and who desire to attend Utah State University must have completed a preparatory course of study, including the following:

English

Four years (units), emphasizing composition/literature.

Mathematics

Three years (units), selected from elementary algebra, geometry, intermediate algebra, trigonometry, college or advanced algebra, or calculus. It is strongly recommended that students take mathematics up to at least trigonometry.

Biological/Physical Science

Three years (units), which meet either state or local graduation requirements. At least one unit must provide a laboratory experience.

American History

One year (unit).

Additional Courses

Four years (units), chosen from at least two of the following: history, English, mathematics beyond intermediate algebra, laboratory science, technology and engineering education, foreign language, social science, and fine arts.

Foreign Language

Two years (units) recommended, which must be of the same foreign language.

Students who meet the minimum index requirements, but have less than the required number of units, will be admitted on the condition that the deficiency is satisfied at the University within the first 30 semester credits of study.

When the admission decision is made, an official letter of notification will be sent to the student. Admission status may also be checked online.

Early Admission

A high school student who has completed his or her junior year and maintained a superior scholastic record may be granted special consideration for admission. An applicant must satisfy the following requirements:

  1. Submit an official application, ACT/SAT scores, a high school transcript, and a $40 application fee.
  2. Submit letters of approval and recommendation from:
    1. Superintendent or principal
    2. Parent or guardian
  3. Admission is not automatic, and will be determined by the admissions committee.
  4. Applications for admission and credentials from the high school must be received by the University according to the deadline dates listed on this page under New Freshman Application Deadlines.

Home-schooled Students

Home-schooled students applying for admission to Utah State University who submit a transcript from an accredited home-school organization will be evaluated the same as any traditional high school students. They must satisfy the University's admission requirements of a minimum 2.5 grade point average, a minimum ACT score of 17 (or an equivalent SAT score of at least 820), and a minimum Admissions Index score of 90. (See Admissions Index table)

To be admitted to Utah State University, home-schooled students without transcripts must provide a list of classes they have completed, and must submit a minimum ACT score of 21 (SAT score of at least 980); or a minimum ACT score of 17 (SAT score of at least 820) and a minimum 656 Total GED (550 Battery Average if taken prior to 2014).

In consultation with the department of the student's intended major, the Director of Admissions will review all materials and make a final decision.

Credit by Examination

New freshmen may receive credits for examination scores received prior to enrollment at USU. Credits may be earned with satisfactory scores on Advanced Placement (AP), College-Level Examination Program (CLEP), DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST), and International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) examinations. To ensure that credits earned by examination will be posted to their transcripts, students are responsible to submit all of their test scores to the Admissions Office. 

Admission Deferment

Newly accepted freshman, transfer, or readmitted students who wish to defer their start date to a later semester may request to do so (without reapplying) by submitting an online Deferment Request at www.usu.edu/loa. *International and Graduate students may not use this form.  Deferment requests are due no later than the 3rd week of classes in the semester for which the student was initially admitted. Deferments are generally granted for up to one year. However, they may be granted for up to two years for those participating in official assignments such as military, church, or humanitarian service. If requesting a deferment for more than one year, the student must submit an official letter of assignment. All Deferment requests must be approved by the Leave of Absence and Deferment staff.
 
Questions regarding deferment should be directed to the Student Orientation and Transition Services Office located in the TSC 105, by phone at (435) 797-1132, or email at leaveofabsence@usu.edu.
 

  • International students must contact the office of Global Engagement located in Military Science 115, by phone at 435-797-1124 or by email at global.engagement@usu.edu.
  • Graduate students will need to contact the School of Graduate Studies located in Old Main 164 or by phone at 435-797-1187 .

Undeclared Program

Newly admitted students with less than 60 semester credits, who meet the University admission standards, but who have not declared a major or who do not qualify for enrollment into one of the academic colleges, are automatically placed in the Undeclared Program. No degrees are offered through the Undeclared Program. Undeclared students who have not declared a major by the time they complete 45 semester credits will be required to sign an institutional agreement with the Office of University Advising.

Associate Degree Admission

Under special circumstances, students who do not qualify for enrollment into one of the academic colleges or into an undeclared program may be considered for admission into a 2-year Associate Degree Program. This program offers students a chance to prove themselves academically at the University. Applicants are considered on an individual case-by-case basis for potential admission into this Associate Degree program.

Students earn an AS degree or an AA degree, or will be automatically put into a 4-year program if they meet the requirements for the desired major OR earn 24 credits with a minimum 2.5 GPA at USU. Students are advised through the Office of University Advising, take the math placement test prior to their first semester, and take a Math and English course in their first year at USU.

Admissions Index

View the Admissions Index.

Declaring a Major

When a student has demonstrated an ability to maintain a GPA appropriate for the intended major, the student may submit a Change of Matriculation form through the Registrar's Office. It is the student's responsibility, in consultation with an advisor, to complete all necessary paperwork.

Nontraditional Admission

An applicant who is not a high school graduate may be considered for admission by presenting satisfactory evidence of ability to do university work. This evidence may be demonstrated by scores on the General Education Development Test (GED). Admission will not be offered unless a student has a high school diploma a 656 Total GED (550 Battery Average if taken prior to 2014) and passes all subtests. (Students in this category include those whose high school class has graduated and those over the age of 18.) Students must also take the ACT/SAT if not previously taken. If the student has been out of high school for seven years or more, the ACT/SAT is waived.

Transfer Student Admission

Transfer students with at least 24 semester credits earned at another regionally accredited institution must meet the minimum GPA requirement for their desired major. 

Applicants whose GPA does not meet the requirements of their desired major may be offered an "undeclared" major, if they have at least a 2.3 GPA and fewer than 60 transfer credits. Applicants with at least a 2.0 GPA and fewer than 60 transfer credits may be admitted into the Associate Degree Program. Transfer students with less than 24 semester transfer credits will be evaluated based on their high school GPA and ACT or SAT score.

Transfer Student Application Materials

  1. Application for Undergraduate Admission and Scholarships
  2. Nonrefundable $40 Application Fee ($55 if late)
  3. Official college transcript(s) from all institutions previously attended

(Note: If less than 24 transferable college credits have been earned, then high school transcript and ACT or SAT scores are also required.)

Transcripts submitted for admission become the property of the University and are not returned.

Transfer Student Application Deadlines

Admissions applications are accepted after posted deadlines with an additional $15 late fee. Scholarship consideration is given only to fall semester applicants.

Fall Semester—June 1 (Scholarship Deadlines: February 1)
Spring Semester—October 1
Summer Semester—April 1

Transfer Student Admission Deferment

Transfer students who wish to defer their start date to a later semester may request to do so by submitting an Admission Deferment Request online at www.usu.edu/loa.  In some cases Transfer students will be required to submit transcripts from previous institutions in order to validate the deferment, while others may have to re-apply for admission. All Deferments must be approved by the Leave of Absence and Deferment staff.  For further information, see Admission Deferment information.
 
Transfer policy information is available in the Transfer Credit section of this catalog.

Readmission

Students who were in attendance the previous spring semester are not required to reapply for fall semester unless the student withdrew from the University or if academic suspension or graduation occurred at the conclusion of the spring semester. Former students of the University returning after an absence of one year or longer are required to file an application for readmission, unless a Leave of Absence form was filed.

Students who desire to be readmitted following academic probation or suspension must apply by March 1 in order to be considered for admission to fall semester, or by October 1 in order to be considered for admission to spring semester.

Returning USU Student Admission Requirements

Applicants must meet the minimum GPA requirement for their desired major. 

Applicants whose GPA does not meet the requirements of their desired major may be offered an "undeclared" major, if they have at least a 2.3 GPA and fewer than 60 credits. 

Returning USU Student Application Materials

  1. Application for Undergraduate Admission and Scholarships
  2. Nonrefundable $20 Application Fee ($35 if late)
  3. College transcript(s) (from colleges attended since USU)

Returning USU Student Application Deadlines

Fall Semester—June 1
Spring Semester—October 1
Summer Semester—March 1

Academic Action Readmission Deadlines

Students who desire to be readmitted following academic action (probation, suspension, or dismissal), must apply by March 1 in order to be considered for admission to summer semester, by June 1 in order to be considered for admission to fall semester, or by October 1 in order to be considered for admission to spring semester.

Readmitted Student Admission Deferment

Readmitted students who wish to defer their start date to a later semester may request to do so (without reapplying) by submitting an Admission Deferment Request online at www.usu.edu/loa. For further information, see Admission Deferment information. 

English Proficiency Requirement

All undergraduate applicants whose native language is not English, must prove university-level English proficiency. The English language requirement may be satisfied in a variety of ways:


• TOEFL internet-based exam score of 71 or paper-based exam score of 525
• IELTS score of 6.0 overall band score with a minimum of 5.0 on each subscale
• SAT Critical Reading score of 500
• ACT English score of 18
• Pearson Test of English overall score of 53
• Eiken Test in Practical English Proficiency Grade Pre-1
• English Language and Composition Advanced Placement exam or English Literature and Composition Advanced Placement exam score of 3, 4, or 5
• Standard Level or Higher Level International Baccalaureate English A1 exam score of 4, 5, 6, or 7
• Completion of the International Baccalaureate Diploma at an accredited high school or secondary school
• USU's Intensive English Language Institute's placement exam score of 146*
• Attendance at an accredited U.S. high school for 3 or more years and enrollment in mainstream non-ESL English/Language Arts classes all three years
• Receive a grade of "C" or better in a college-level English Composition course (equivalent to USU's ENGL 1010 or ENGL 2010) at a regionally-accredited U.S. college or university. Equivalency will be determined by the Registrar's Office at Utah State University. Any equivalency determination made by the Registrar's Office will be final.


If you are not sure if you qualify for an exemption as a native English speaker, please contact the Admission Office to request a review of your circumstances. Utah State University reserves the right to require proof of English proficiency from any applicant, if deemed necessary by a university official.


*IELI's placement exam may be taken upon arrival at USU. For further information, please review the conditional admission parameters below:


Applicants who are unable to provide proof of English proficiency as outlined above, may request conditional admission to the university pending the completion of Utah State University's Intensive English Language program. Conditionally admitted students will be eligible to enroll in their chosen academic program at USU after they have passed level 4 (advanced level) of the Intensive English program at Utah State University or achieved a 146 on the Intensive English Language Institute's placement exam. Qualified students in level 4 (advanced level) of Intensive English may take one or more academic courses concurrent with their English courses, if approved by the Intensive English Language Institute faculty and their academic advisor.

Criminal History Disclosure Requirement

All undergraduate applicants are required to disclose if they have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation, or if any such charge is currently pending against them. Applicants who have a criminal history are required to complete a background questionnaire for each offense. The background questionnaire is available online at: www.usu.edu/admissions/background. If an applicant's answer changes prior to enrollment, they must promptly contact the Office of Admissions to provide an explanation. By submitting the questionnaire, the applicant consents to Utah State University obtaining information from appropriate persons to validate or otherwise learn more about the conduct in order to make appropriate education-related decisions. Specifically, the applicant authorizes the pertinent governmental agencies to disclose to appropriate officials at Utah State or its agents the facts and circumstances of the applicant's criminal conviction(s), incarceration(s), probation(s) and/or parole(s). Finally, the applicant consents to permit Utah State University to make an informed decision regarding their application for admission to Utah State. Failure to disclose all criminal history may result in denial of admission or dismissal from the university.

Academic History Disclosure Requirement

All undergraduate applicants are required to disclose if they have ever been expelled, suspended, disciplined, placed on probation, or are ineligible to return to any high school or college. Applicants who have had any of these action taken against them are required to provide a detailed statement of explanation. Failure to disclose may result in denial of admission or dismissal from the university.  By submitting the statement, the applicant consents to Utah State University obtaining information from appropriate persons to validate or otherwise learn more about the conduct in order to make appropriate education-related decisions. Finally, the applicant consents to permit Utah State University to make an informed decision regarding their application for admission to Utah State.

Residency Policy and Appeal

Persons who have been classified as nonresident students and who feel they now satisfy the requirements for Utah Resident Status for Tuition Purposes must file an application with the Residency Office, Taggart Student Center 102. The residency application is available through the student's Banner Access account. There is no application fee. Applications are processed each semester. The deadline is no later than the end of the second week of the semester. Applications received after this deadline will not be reviewed or considered. The application will not be completed or processed until the student is admitted to the University.

If an application is denied by the Residency Office, the student may appeal to the Residency Appeals Committee no later than the 20th calendar day of the semester. Appeals cannot be considered after this deadline.

To qualify for Utah resident status for tuition purposes, a person is required to:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or have permanent resident status.
  • Document living in Utah for 12 continuous months, as a student or working.
  • Not be claimed as a dependent on most recent tax returns by anyone who is not a resident of Utah.
  • Obtain a Utah vehicle registration, voter registration, and driver's license at least three months prior to the start of the semester for which the student is applying for residency.

Each person who applies for Utah resident status for tuition purposes is considered on the totality of evidence. Based upon review of each application, additional documentation may be required, including evidence of employment in Utah, proof of payment of Utah income taxes for the previous year, birth certificate, parent's tax returns, etc.

Persons having questions about a specific situation (not covered by the information above) should contact the Admissions Office.

Exceptions

Provisions in the law enable a person to be granted Utah residency for tuition purposes as an exception to the regulations listed above. A few exceptions are listed below, but students should contact the Admissions Office for more information regarding requirements and restrictions for each exception. Below are the most common exceptions to the 12-month waiting period for residency and the required documentation listed in the Regents Policy 512, Determination of Residency Status. For a complete list of exceptions, explanations and definitions, please visit our residency website (listed below) for the link to the R512 document on the Utah System of Higher Education's website.

  1. Dependent children and spouses of those who obtain full-time employment and move to Utah.
  2. Certain individuals recruited or transferred to Utah with full-time employment.
  3. Dependent persons having a parent who has been a legal resident of Utah for at least one year.
  4. Persons who marry a Utah resident. (The spouse must have been a Utah resident before the marriage.)
  5. Active-duty military personnel and their dependents with current duty station in Utah can pay resident tuition while they are stationed in Utah.
  6. Military veterans and their dependents may also qualify for residency for tuition purposes, regardless of where they served.
  7. Native Americans who are registered on the tribal rolls of tribes whose lands are contiguous to Utah. (Documentation is required.)

Other requirements may apply. For further residency information, contact the USU Admissions Office, Taggart Student Center 102, (435) 797-1079, or visit: http://www.usu.edu/admissions/residency

Note: Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) and Alumni Legacy Waiver students are not eligible to establish residency for tuition purposes. Time in state and/or credits earned while on WUE or Alumni Legacy Waiver will not count toward residency.

Other Admissions Information

Veterans Educational Benefits

Veterans or qualified dependents of disabled or deceased veterans who may be eligible for Veterans Educational Benefits should contact the Office of Veterans Services, or telephone (435) 797-9187 for information concerning their educational benefits. Veterans or eligible dependents must make application for admission and be matriculated in a degree program.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Utah State University participates in the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE), a program of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). Through WUE, certain students who are not residents of the State of Utah may enroll at Utah State University by paying resident tuition plus 50 percent of that amount (plus other fees that are paid by all students). For further information, see WUE text in the Financial Aid and Scholarships section.

International Student Admission

For information about admission procedures for international students, see International Student Admission and Programs.