Jun 01, 2023  
2010-2011 General Catalog 
2010-2011 General Catalog ARCHIVED CATALOG: To search archives, use search box above. See current catalog at catalog.usu.edu.

Introduction to Utah State University

Utah State University

The academic advantages of a large university, together with the friendliness of a small college, are offered at Utah State University. With a student body of more than 25,000, USU recognizes that the needs of the individual are of major importance, and many programs have been established to give the student optimal individual attention.

With 42 departments in eight academic colleges, more than 200 undergraduate options, a School of Graduate Studies, a system of Regional Campuses and Distance Education, University Extension, and several research programs, Utah State University offers an excellent opportunity for students to study a wide range of subjects.

New programs offered through Regional Campuses and Distance Education have dramatically increased. More than 20 bachelor’s degrees are currently available through USU’s regional campuses in Brigham City, Tooele, and the Uintah Basin.

The July 1, 2010 merger with the College of Eastern Utah will strengthen higher education in the eastern corridor of the state and extend critical research programs to the region, particularly in energy, water, and environmental management.

The Caine College of the Arts (the eighth academic college) will be launched July 1, 2010, and will include several departments and programs previously housed in the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (HASS).

USU was founded in 1888 as part of the public educational system of Utah and operates under the constitution and laws of the state. It belongs to the family of institutions known as land-grant universities, which had their origin in 1862. The institution was originally called the Agricultural College of Utah, later becoming Utah State Agricultural College. The state legislature designated the name change to Utah State University in 1957.

An 18-member State Board of Regents governs the Utah System of Higher Education. This board has the responsibility for state-wide master planning for higher education, assignment of roles to the several institutions in the state system, and control of operating and capital budgets for the institutions. USU has a 10-member Board of Trustees whose responsibilities are derived from Utah statutes, as well as those delegated to the Trustees by the State Board of Regents.

USU is governed by the State Board of Regents and accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, Teacher Education Accreditation Council, American Psychological Association, American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, American Music Therapy Association, AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, Utah State Board of Education—Teacher Education Program, Council on Rehabilitation Education, Accrediting Board of Engineering and Technology, American Society of Landscape Architects, Commission on Accreditation—Council on Social Work Education, American Chemical Society, Society of American Foresters, National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission, Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), American Dietetic Association, Foundation for Interior Design Education Research, National Association of Schools of Music, Utah State Board of Vocational Education, and the Society for Range Management. USU is a land-grant and space-grant university, as well as a Carnegie Foundation “Doctoral University—High Research” institution. Credit earned at USU is fully transferable to other universities and colleges in the United States of America.